Reading books is such a good thing . . .

4 Dec

except for the paper.  Oh, don’t get me wrong, I love paper. Paper is wonderful.  Crisp and lovely.  Foldable.  Feels good in your hands.  Makes a raspy sound when you turn the page as you’re reading in bed.  Wonderful stuff, paper.

But, I don’t love that it’s made out of trees. We need trees.  The birds need trees.  Our whole planet needs trees.  More trees.  More, more, more!

So, I was quite intriguied when I ran across a new conservation website (thanks to Fiona at Planting Words).  It is called Eco-Libris and the idea is this.  Buy a book, donate a dollar, they plant a tree. And, the donation is only a single dollar

logo for Eco-Libris - a tree planted for every book you read

I love this idea.  Planting trees is something I can totally get behind.  It strikes me as something that birders can get behind too.  I’ve noticed in my travels that lots of birders like to read and many like to read about birds.

I am giving several books as gifts this year.  I donated a dollar for each book and will receive a book plate to put inside each book.  What a great way to spread the word and give greener this year.

So, that’s my challenge to you.  Give a little bit more this year and help make our planet a little bit greener!

Oh, and honey, if you’re reading (which he isn’t!), just think how much greener my excessive reading habit would be if I had a Kindle and wasn’t using *all* that paper!  Hint!  Hint!  🙂

7 Responses to “Reading books is such a good thing . . .”

  1. fiona robyn 4 December, 2008 at 2:17 am #

    Hi Liza – thanks for spreading the word 😉 And I love the idea of using the stickers to put on Christmas presents… genius. Good to have found your blog, and while I’m here, if you ever fancy contributing to my blogzine http://www.ahandfulofstones.com please do!

  2. fiona robyn 4 December, 2008 at 2:21 am #

    PS me again (can’t find an email for you here) – I’m arranging a blog tour for my new novel in March, if you might be interested in participating could you drop me an email? Thanks!

  3. jayne 4 December, 2008 at 3:46 am #

    Now THAT was a clever way to get a cool Christmas gift!!! ;c) I agree, that’s a neat idea they have there.

  4. wren 4 December, 2008 at 4:29 am #

    Hope you get the Kindle. I have a Sony ebook reader – same idea, different company – and just love it, especially for travel. I think we should have little book plates for our ebooks saying “Saving the planet, one book at a time”

  5. KGMom 4 December, 2008 at 8:10 am #

    Back atcha, girl. You said I rock–well, let me tell you, you ROCK too. What could be better than spreading the reading habit, AND saving trees?
    Oh, and about the Kindle–I am getting one for Christmas from my husband. Yes, I am–even if it is delayed. He is getting me one–it’s already ordered.

  6. Crafty Green Poet 4 December, 2008 at 9:13 am #

    I love this idea too. i only ever buy second hand books

  7. Liza Lee Miller 4 December, 2008 at 7:04 pm #

    KGMom, I’m sooooo jealous. I hope you enjoy your Kindle. I look forward to hearing how it works for you.

    Everyone else. This seems like such an easy, good idea. I love it.

Leave a Reply

