Still missing my birds

9 Dec

I am still missing my birds.  They are still shunning me.  They seemed to like the peanuts.  Maybe it’s time to bring it back.

DSCF0113

Chestnut-back Chickadees are are our local chickadees.  They are very sweet, brazen birds.  They love to hang out while I’m gardening and chirp in irritation when we go in and out of the door.  And, yet, they are staying away in droves.

DSCF0099

Chestnut-backed Chickadees are the smallest Chickadee.  They don’t have a whistled song but they do have a lovely scratchy “chick-a-dee-dee-dee” song.  Their most notable feature is their pretty brown backs, which is, of course, where they got their name.

For more amazing bird photos, check out Bird Photography Weekly #15 hosted by our friends at Birdfreak.com.

4 Responses to “Still missing my birds”

  1. Crafty Green Poet 9 December, 2008 at 11:36 pm #

    They’re pretty birds, sorry they’re staying away.

    I like the Christmassy theme you’ve got just now!

  2. Mary 10 December, 2008 at 8:43 am #

    They sound like our Chickadee but those little brown backs are so cute! Liza, I don’t understand what’s keeping your birds away. Are you feeding?

    I like the snowflakes :o)

  3. wren 10 December, 2008 at 5:37 pm #

    This is a new bird for me. Cute, like all chickadees.

    I’ve always found peanuts to be the most popular, too. Sometimes it takes them a while to find their way back.

  4. Mary Carlson 12 December, 2008 at 10:24 pm #

    Liza, I’m just “down the hill” from you, and our chickadees seem to like sunflower chips, sunflower seeds, and nyjer seeds best. Do you still have your nyjer feeders up? If so, haven’t your chickadees gone to those feeders? Oh that’s right, you said they were staying away in droves. Mmmm! I wonder what’s wrong. Should I send a few of mine up the hill to your place? ;o)

Leave a Reply

