Poetry and Pride

12 Dec

Bark

I have written poetry for as long as I can remember, in fact, I was first published at 6 years old.  There was an 11  year gap in publishing but oh my goodness did I write a lot of poems during that time.  I was next published in my high school lit review.  And, then . . . nothing.

My poetry has been private until I started sharing it on this blog.  That was a huuuuuuuuge step.  And, I have gotten some nice feedback on my poetry from my readers here . . . and for that, I thank you. I have shared my poetry in open poetry blogs (see the sidebar for some links).

Still, I have been reluctant to push myself into taking more risks.  I have long had a goal of submitting my poems to some of the many online journals but have been really nervous about the rejections I know will come.  Poetry, for me and I suspect for most poets, is extremely personal.  I write what is in my heart.  Having someone say, “No, thank you” to chunks of my heart is a proposition that I felt reluctant to put myself through.

Still, I know that I want to do it.  I want to push myself and grow in that way.

So, still high on the personal success I achieved in NaNoWriMo, I took a chance.  I submitted a few poems to an online collection called A Handful of Stones. According to the publisher, Fiona Robyn, “a small stone is a moment of paying proper attention.”  She publishes new stones daily.  I tried my hand at this and she accepted two of my “stones.”   They will be published in the new year.  I am so excited!

I have also been enjoying reading a new blog called Winter Haiku.  I asked if I could share my haiku there as well.  I was, again, very fortunate and my poem was accepted. You can see it here.  Again, I am thrilled.

Risk-taking doesn’t come all that naturally to me.  I have to force myself to it.  I should not be so reluctant, though, as I generally find that I am happy with the results when I do.  I have gained much whenever I push myself out of my comfort zone and reach for something that I want.

Still, I don’t see that risk taking getting any easier as time goes on.

6 Responses to “Poetry and Pride”

  1. Crafty Green Poet 12 December, 2008 at 1:10 am #

    Congratulations on being included in Winter Haiku and a handful of stones!

  2. Beth 12 December, 2008 at 2:32 am #

    Your haiku was beautiful–I’m glad that you are being brave enough to send your work out so that others can enjoy it–be sure and let us know when the ones are published in A Handful of Stones.

  3. jayne 12 December, 2008 at 3:21 am #

    Congratulations Liza!

  4. KGMom 12 December, 2008 at 6:23 am #

    Way to go, Liza Lee. Another poet here understands exactly what you mean. Poems are my children–please accept them and love them, and don’t tell me if you don’t like them.
    I will have to go look at the sites you linked.

  5. Liza Lee Miller 12 December, 2008 at 6:44 am #

    thanks for the positive feedback, everyone. It feels really good, this baby step. There are other online poetry journals that feel much scarier to consider . . . but I’m working up to it. 🙂

  6. bevson 16 December, 2008 at 7:14 pm #

    I am so proud of you!!! Your poetry is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

