What do you mean “It’s indoor recess?”

17 Dec

What do you mean "indoor recess"?

Ravens are our clean-up crew at school.  They vie with the crows for “yard duty.”  Despite our jokes that they might carry away a kindergartener, they are actually useful at school.  They clean up trash and food from the playground.  This useful duty almost makes up for the fact that they also poop on the railings, ransack the garbage cans, and pick bits of rubber off of cars . . . they tore up my rear windshield wiper and pecked at my sunroof seal.  Why?  I dunno.  For me, I forgive them.  I mean, just look at them.  What’s not to love?

And, I haven’t ever mentioned my theory on the “vandals” who stole a windshield wiper off a colleague’s car.  Rowdy kids?  I don’t think so . . . try rowdy corvids!

5 Responses to “What do you mean “It’s indoor recess?””

  1. KGMom 17 December, 2008 at 4:51 am #

    Do the ravens snatch rubber wipers WHEN it’s indoor recess? In retribution for no yard snacks?

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook 17 December, 2008 at 6:09 am #

    Do you suppose it’s beacuse they are so smart that they get into mischief?

  3. robin andrea 17 December, 2008 at 7:32 am #

    I just think it’s so cool to have ravens to watch everyday.

  4. Clare 17 December, 2008 at 7:37 am #

    What a great name for a band… The Rowdy Corvids

    My ravens are getting a little harder to see now that the dark season has progressed, but I still get my daily dose of corvidae. What a wonderful world.

  5. Wende 17 December, 2008 at 11:52 pm #

    I think you could be right about the birds. Seriously–they’re pretty smart from my experience with them!

    And holding good thoughts for white stuff. Your template is snowing at least. Which is the second one like that I’ve seen in the past 10 minutes. I’m impressed. 😀

Leave a Reply

