Happy Happy Joy Joy!

29 Dec

DSCF0099

The day after Christmas, I sat on my couch and something caught my eye from the kitchen window.  Hurray!  I am forgiven!  The Chickadees are back!

There were two on the feeder and a Junco jumped up there a bit later.  The best part was that I went out on the front porch to get a load of wood for the fire and there were five or six Chickadees in my wisteria vines at the front door.  One stayed for a few minutes to chat with me.

Happy me!

To visit more fine feathered friends, go check  out Bird Photography Weekly #18.

13 Responses to “Happy Happy Joy Joy!”

  1. Pam 29 December, 2008 at 6:42 am #

    Yay, how cheery! I miss hearing all of the birds singing in the trees here!

  2. bevson 29 December, 2008 at 6:54 am #

    Yay You! I have been gone for a week, I am so totally in the Chickadee dog house. But I put up my new feeders, so let’s see how long it takes to be forgiven. I just love Chickadees.

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook 29 December, 2008 at 6:58 am #

    I’m so glad they came back!

  4. Lynne at Hasty Brook 29 December, 2008 at 6:58 am #

    Oh- and I like your new header!

  5. Vickie Henderson 29 December, 2008 at 7:18 am #

    What a beautiful little chickadee! I noticed when I was in NM they have several varieties. In TN we only have the Carolina.

  6. robin andrea 29 December, 2008 at 7:24 am #

    What a wonderful thing it is to have them back. What are you feeding them?

  7. TR 29 December, 2008 at 9:28 am #

    Beautiful winter BPW!

  8. Mick 29 December, 2008 at 12:25 pm #

    Very nice photo of such a cute little bird.

  9. Crafty Green Poet 29 December, 2008 at 12:36 pm #

    oh glad they’re back, such lovely birds

  10. Kyle 29 December, 2008 at 1:40 pm #

    Beautiful shot of the chickadee, Liza! We never get them in our neighborhood, but used to see them all the time at my grandmother’s feeders up in East Texas. I’m glad you have been granted visits again!

  11. Christopher 30 December, 2008 at 6:18 am #

    We only get Black-capped Chickadees – Boreal Chickadees are a real treat. (I think that’s what you have there, right?)
    Nice photo!

  12. Liza Lee Miller 30 December, 2008 at 8:38 am #

    Actually, Christopher, they are Chestnut-backed Chickadees. Similar to Boreal. I’m in California. Boreals are in Canada and tiny bits of the US.

  13. Arija 30 December, 2008 at 10:10 am #

    I just love Chickadees, it is my favourite little bird and unfortunately not native to Australia.
    Glad for you that they did not all fly away when you opened the door. There is something so very special t be serenaded by a bird!

Leave a Reply

