Sunday Walk

8 Jan

(or numbers 10 – 13)

My Year List is growing, have you noticed?  On Sunday, we went to my mother-in-law’s for dinner as usual.  I hadn’t taken my daily walk yet and so after we pulled her in her driveway, I grabbed my camera and headed off.  My husband scoffed at my walk with a camera.  Okay, it is a short walk to the ponds and I would be stopping and snapping shots a lot but still I walked and he didn’t.  So there.

Honestly, I didn’t expect to find much although the ponds were my MIL lives are usually a winter birding haven.  They have been mucking with the ponds, however, and I hadn’t seen many birds there as we’d drive by.  What I learned is that there is a reason we don’t bird from cars while driving, though.  Did you know that?  It was news to me.

Snowy Egret

I had spotted the Snowy Egret as we drove by and that was what lured me to walk back there.  Not much prettier in this world than a Snowy Egret.  So, I walked back and was so glad I did.  And not just because I got to add the Mallards that were keeping him (her?) company.  As I snapped shot after gorgeous shot of the Egret, I heard a weird rattling, laughing call that totally drew my attention.  Startled the Egret too; it very nearly flew off.  Imagine my surprise as a Belted Kingfisher cruised in over the pond and landed across the pond from me, posing for shots.

Belted Kingfisher, female

As the battery warning light on my camera flashed red, I decided to walk up to the upper pond and see what was up there.  The Kingfisher followed me up — they are like that, friendly, cooperative birds (cough, cough).  There were more fun birds up there.  A pair of Double-crested Cormorants were floating around the pond while a Black-crowned Night Heron lurked on the opposite shore.  What fun!

Cormorant

Black-crowned Night-Heron

On the way back to my MIL’s, I heard such a noisy bird in a tree over my head.  It was brazen and bold and raspy.  I thought it must be a chickadee but I could see nothing in the tree, despite it’s being completely bare of leaves.  So, I stopped and really looked.  Two Anna’s Hummingbirds were sitting on branches at the tippy top making so much noise.

Anna's Hummingbird
This is my Sky Watch submission.  A crisp, clear winter sky at nearly dusk.

A great Sunday walk.

For more bird-filled skies in your Friday, visit Sky Watch Friday!

18 Responses to “Sunday Walk”

  1. jayne 8 January, 2009 at 3:43 am #

    What a great walk Liza. :c)

  2. robin andrea 8 January, 2009 at 7:29 am #

    That does look like a perfect Sunday walk.

  3. jodyss 8 January, 2009 at 7:47 am #

    Great shots, sis! Especially the egret. Just gorgeous with the reflection. Love the kingfisher.

  4. Crafty Green Poet 8 January, 2009 at 9:17 am #

    sounsd like a great walk, the egret photo is stunning.

    I don’t drive but i love birdwatching from trains…

  5. hipwritermama 8 January, 2009 at 3:58 pm #

    These photos are beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

  6. NatureWoman 8 January, 2009 at 4:40 pm #

    OMG Liza, you saw and captured so many cool birds!! I get the same comments, ‘walking with a camera isn’t walking,’ but at least I’m outside getting fresh air and yes, walking. . . some! LOL! Oh, you’re not supposed to bird with your car – LOL!!

  7. People with Cameras 8 January, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    That’s a wonderful walk!

  8.  Etje 8 January, 2009 at 10:56 pm #

    Thanks for sharing these beautiful photos.

  9. angela 9 January, 2009 at 12:42 am #

    That Snowy Egret is the prettiest bird. I’ve never seen one before and the Kingfisher; I’ve always wanted to see one of those. What a great walk.
    The Sky watch is so delicate and serene, like a painting..

  10. Kathy 9 January, 2009 at 3:43 am #

    I would say you had a great walk. Wow. That snowy egret is beautiful. Great shots. Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

  11. Mary Carlson 9 January, 2009 at 8:53 am #

    Liza, the egret’s reflection is so clear and it’s such a beautiful photo. Also, my daughter (Red) and I went to Elkhorn Slough Sunday afternoon, and we also saw a Belted Kingfisher (our first!). They sure do make weird sounds, don’t they?

  12. bookbabie 9 January, 2009 at 9:11 am #

    Our skies are a bit gray around here today too, love the snowy egret, so graceful and serene:)

  13. Fishing Guy 9 January, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    Lovely bird captures and the hummers in the tree was a neat sky shot.

  14. Mary 9 January, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    Wonderful bird shots! I really like the egret and the kingfisher and the hummers…how neat!

  15. wren 9 January, 2009 at 3:30 pm #

    Oh, I’m so jealous. Great walk, great birds, great sky.

  16. Arija 9 January, 2009 at 4:35 pm #

    Now that sort of Sunday walk is to be highly recommended! Superb shot of the Egret, really WoW!

  17. bevson 10 January, 2009 at 12:27 pm #

    This shot of the Snowy is even better. I really should get out to walk more. And your right, birding from cars, only gets you so far.

  18. Mary 11 January, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    Liza, those Belted Kingfishers are just so cooperative :o) Your photos are marvelous.

Leave a Reply

