Snowy Egret Obsession

13 Jan

Flying off

Snowy Egrets are a heart bird for me.
Or a soul bird.
I see them and feel a sense of peace.
They are beautiful and elegant.
They are hunters, strong and smart.
When I see them, I know things are all right.
With the world.  With me.
Hope takes wing.

© 2009.  Liza Lee Miller.
All Rights Reserved.

For more poetic birds, visit Bird Photography Weekly.

7 Responses to “Snowy Egret Obsession”

  1. Beth 13 January, 2009 at 2:31 am #

    Lovely picture and poem, I keep coming back to take another look and read the poem again. I guess I should just print it off and keep it with me today.

  2. Liza Lee Miller 13 January, 2009 at 6:07 am #

    Beth, what an incredibly sweet thing to say. I’m touched!

  3. Mary Carlson 13 January, 2009 at 7:36 am #

    I love snowy egrets, too. I wonder if it’s their beautiful white plumage and their graceful way of flying that gives us that sense of peace.

  4. Sandy 13 January, 2009 at 2:23 pm #

    This is nice, Liza. I love them, too, but have never been lucky enough to get a shot of one.

    Cattle egrets used to sit on the cows on my parent’s ranch in Oklahoma, but I wasn’t into photography then. They are not as showy, anyway.

  5. Liza Lee Miller 13 January, 2009 at 8:30 pm #

    I’d still like to see one of those non-showy Cattle Egrets, Sandy! 🙂

  6. Red 15 January, 2009 at 11:18 pm #

    I’d like to see one of those Cattle Egrets myself! I keep seeing Snowys everywhere and while they are perfect models, I’m running out of poses 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I and the Bird #92 - The picnic party « the Marvelous in nature - 22 January, 2009

    […] “Out! Out!” I cried, “That’s it! I’m done!” And tried to shoo them out the front Without much luck, although I tried; Just the egret did oblige. […]

Leave a Reply

