Bleak mid-winter

16 Jan

Night sky

Feeling a little blue and dark today.

While the whole country is in a monetary turmoil right now, California’s crisis is unique.  Our deficit is more than some countries spend in a year.  We have difficult problems to solve and none of our “leaders” show the will to solve them.  The legislature sends our governor a budget and he vetoes it.  Our governor sends the legislature a proposal on a budget and they won’t pass it.  Meanwhile, we are close to issuing IOUs for our debts.  (Gee, didn’t know we could do that.  Hey, phone company, here’s my IOU.  Hey, electric and gas company, let’s just say IOU for this month, okay?).

It’s nervous-making times as a citizen of this state but as a teacher, it’s terrifying.

I’m a new teacher.  This is technically my 2nd year teaching although I have taught previously for 3 years at the same school, I don’t believe any of them “count”.  We are looking at drastic changes in the way education is handled in California.  And, the worst part of it is, we really don’t know if any of it will happen or none of it but the school district superintendents in our state have been told to plan for the worst case scenario.

Worst case scenario.  I shudder to think what that means for our children in this state.  But, selfishly, for me, I could be out of a job at the end of this school year.  I will likely get pink-slipped in March.  And, hopefully, in May they’ll rescind the pink slip because they will have more information about how this will all play out.  But, worst case scenario, I could be done with teaching and out there with the masses of other job hunters, seeking an illusive, non-existent job.

So, yea, things are a little blue and dark here this morning.

For some hopefully clearer skies, visit Sky Watch.  It’s cleansing!

15 Responses to “Bleak mid-winter”

  1. jodyss 16 January, 2009 at 6:55 am #

    Big hug. Can’t wait to see you tomorrow.

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook 16 January, 2009 at 7:56 am #

    A hug from me too. We all know that changes are coming that will affect us all but for mtethe hard part is not knowing what to plan for.

  3. KGMom 16 January, 2009 at 9:18 am #

    Stuff likes this just drives me crazy.
    I know things are tough in the economy.
    I know people don’t like to pay taxes.
    But not fund schools? How can we not? Where do we think the problem solvers of tomorrow come from?
    And every time a senior turns down funding schools (it happens here a lot), I feel like saying–ok, no Medicare for you out of my money. Sorry–went off a bit there.
    Hope things look up–for you, for us all.

  4. Mary 16 January, 2009 at 9:51 am #

    Liza, yes, like Donna said, “stuff like this drives me crazy.” We all have too much stuff like this going on in this country. No one has a secure job…the college is scrambling for funds and cutting back all over the place.

    I guess this is why we focus on Sky Watches.

    I wish you good news.

  5. earthtoholly 16 January, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    Yeah, what a mess the country is in…I do hope your situation improves, or at least doesn’t worsen…hang in there.

    I must say I do love your blue and dark sky, though…

  6. Louise 16 January, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    I love the photo. Sorry things are so bleak in your world. From where I sit, I don’t see things improving quickly. Just have to do our best to take care of ourselves.

  7. washaw 16 January, 2009 at 12:24 pm #

    Stunning picture of the winter where you live.

  8. bookbabie 16 January, 2009 at 12:51 pm #

    Michigan is not doing any better, hang in there and hugs from the cold northeast:)

  9. SandyCarlson 16 January, 2009 at 12:56 pm #

    Let’s hope things get better.

  10. robin andrea 16 January, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    I’m hoping for some combination of stimulus from the feds and the legislators coming to their senses. This is a terrible fiscal crisis, but I do think smart thinking will prevail, and you will keep your job.

  11. mon@rch 16 January, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

    sorry to hear everything happening and our gov has also been doing some major cuts. It has been some strange times recently.

  12. Pam 16 January, 2009 at 5:56 pm #

    Ugh, blech, I can’t stand it either. I sure hope you don’t lose your job. I’m thinking about you, Liza.

  13. jayne 17 January, 2009 at 4:34 am #

    Hopefully, education will be a priority. Keeping my fingers crossed! Hang in there Liza.

  14. wren 17 January, 2009 at 8:19 am #

    Appropriate title and photos – hang in there, nonetheless. It’s a scary time around the country and the world. It’s a sad time, in that even major problems don’t get our priorities straight. Can’t anyone in politics or business take the long view or look at the big picture?

  15. Mary Carlson 17 January, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    Well said, Wren! We’ve had cuts here at the hospital where I work, too (of course, here in California). But, so far I should be OK. My son, on the other hand, hasn’t been that fortunate. He has been teaching math (as an adjunct instructor) for about 2 years at a local community college. And he was told at the end of the fall semester that the school was forced to make cuts (cutting classes and instructors) and he may not get called in to teach. So far, that has been the case – he has not been called to teach for this semester. 😦

Leave a Reply

