Roosters

7 Feb

Someday I’ll have a flock of chickens.  Someone near my school got these two beauties earlier this year.  When I arrive at school now, I am greeted with the kronks of ravens and crows and the crows of these lovely creatures.

white rooster

Black rooster

Of course, when I have chickens, there probably won’t be any roosters . . . more hens would be nice.  They’re the ones who lay eggs, after all!  🙂

7 Responses to “Roosters”

  1. wren 8 February, 2009 at 5:53 am #

    These are very handsome.

    I had chickens once, when I was in an earthmother frame of mind. They weren’t as much trouble as I anticipated, and actually rather nice to have around.

    • Liza Lee Miller 8 February, 2009 at 10:11 am #

      They are handsome. Glad to hear they weren’t much trouble. Our neighbor had a couple of hens the he let range around the neighborhood in the daytime. I LOVED them. Unfortunately, raccoons got them. Sigh. We have a great dog run though that the coons would not be able to get into.

  2. robin andrea 8 February, 2009 at 7:27 am #

    We have a similar plan, chickens sans rooster. I do like how those roosters look though.

    • Liza Lee Miller 8 February, 2009 at 10:10 am #

      Yea, I like roosters . . . but my husband also likes to sleep in the mornings! 🙂

  3. Wende 8 February, 2009 at 10:39 am #

    Oh, you have to have at least ONE Rooster. 😀

  4. Pam 9 February, 2009 at 4:20 am #

    I *love* roosters and hens!! These are gorgeous.

  5. bevson 11 February, 2009 at 4:52 am #

    There is a rooster that crows all day somewhere a few streets further into the woods. I have never seen him (or them) but I look up and smile whenever I hear him.

Leave a Reply

