Wordless Wednesday – American Robin (Turdus migratorius)

11 Feb

American Robin

10 Responses to “Wordless Wednesday – American Robin (Turdus migratorius)”

  1. bevson 11 February, 2009 at 4:45 am #

    I saw a field full of Robins last week. Even though many of them are staying further north each year, I still think of them as the harbinger of spring. I love to see them.

  2. amarkonmywall 11 February, 2009 at 5:49 am #

    Wait! Is that the same as the Poopus volante rosso?
    I LOVE them! And miss them, terribly. (Although I did spot a couple still vacationing on the Beauty Berry at the nature preserve yesterday.) So be happy they are moving north.
    Very nice photo.

  3. Crafty Green Poet 11 February, 2009 at 7:12 am #

    such a lovely bird, so unlike our robins…

  4. Crafty Green Poet 11 February, 2009 at 7:13 am #

    I don’t mean to imply that Uk robins aren’t lovely by the way, they’re one of my favourite birds, I mean only that your robins look different to ours…

  5. robin andrea 11 February, 2009 at 7:33 am #

    I haven’t seen a robin since we’ve been back in California. I’m so glad to see this one.

  6. Pam 11 February, 2009 at 4:30 pm #

    Ohh, thanks for sharing your robin. I can’t wait to see them again!

  7. mon@rch 11 February, 2009 at 5:12 pm #

    I can’t wait to see my first Robin of the year!

  8. KGMom 11 February, 2009 at 5:38 pm #

    Are you spoofing us on the scientific name? Methinks.

  9. KGMom 11 February, 2009 at 5:40 pm #

    Except–I just looked it up, and you aren’t.
    What a funny scientific name. Someone had fun.

  10. Susan Gets Native 11 February, 2009 at 7:13 pm #

    Until I became a birder, I thought all robins went south for the winter. When I started paying attention, I realized they could be found all the time.
    But I really hate the latin name. I mean….turdus?
    🙂

Leave a Reply

