Orchid Overload

14 Feb

P1180539

I’m going to need advice from the Orchid Goddess, Julie Zickefoose, on this one. I attended a Valentine’s Party yesterday with a gift exchange. One of the women opened this amazing orchid and said, “Oooo, I’ll kill this one quickly.” So, when someone stole my beautiful little bird house from me, I didn’t hesitate to rescue this amazing orchid-boganza and bring it home. It’s cheering me up just to walk into my kitchen and see this much beauty staring back at me.

5 Responses to “Orchid Overload”

  1. mon@rch 14 February, 2009 at 6:21 pm #

    Orchids are such amazing flowers!

  2. Toni 14 February, 2009 at 7:46 pm #

    Isn’t wonderful how we find joy in flowers and nature.
    Her loss and your gain.

  3. jayne 15 February, 2009 at 4:55 am #

    My little Nobby Amy is healthy, but I’ve never gotten another bloom stem since I brought her home two years ago… I am trying to be patient. She’s worked hard to put out probably 6 or so new leaves, so I hope maybe this year???

  4. Julie Zickefoose 15 February, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    Orchid Goddess’ Nobby’s Amy hasn’t bloomed in almost FOUR years, so no love there, Jayne! You’ve got a Cattleya, Liza, and they like more sun than most orchids. It looks like a fragrant one! If you don’t smell anything now, try it in midmorning when the sun’s on it. Let it dry out completely between waterings, don’t let it sit in water, and enjoy! Oh, and don’t forget to feed, weekly, weakly.

  5. Liza Lee Miller 15 February, 2009 at 5:32 pm #

    Thanks for the advice, Julie. I love the weekly weakly especially. That’s one I can remember. It is VERY fragrant — so lovely. I’m glad to know it likes a bit more sun — I want to put it in my bedroom which has a western exposure. Behind the blinds that should be perfect.

Leave a Reply

