Wild Turkeys in the Rain

23 Feb

Wild Turkeys in the rain

Doesn’t everyone choose to go out walking in the rain chasing turkeys on a golf course?  Especially in a rain like that?

Well, I did.  I saw these turkeys last Tuesday but I didn’t have my camera with me.  I was really upset since first of all, I really like turkeys and secondly . . . uh, hello . . . do you see that white one there, in the middle?

So, when we drove by today, we saw them again, I had my camera and I had my husband drop me off in the rain.  I followed them taking pictures.  I ended up walking back in the pouring rain with a big grin on my face.

Wild Turkeys in the rain

I like this picture because you can see how different the white one looks from the others.

Wild Turkeys

Wild Turkeys

It’s a little hard to tell from the picture, but I think that some of the other turkeys have more white than one might expect.  I wonder if it’s a family relationship.

Wild Turkeys

For more wonderful birds, visit Bird Photography Weekly.

19 Responses to “Wild Turkeys in the Rain”

  1. jayne 23 February, 2009 at 3:46 am #

    That’s amazing Liza! I’d have been grinning in the rain too to see such a sight! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pam 23 February, 2009 at 5:11 am #

    Very cool, Liza! I would have been grinning, too! The white one(s) are really cool!

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook 23 February, 2009 at 5:53 am #

    The whiter turkeys are really neat. I’ve never seen anything like that.

  4. robin andrea 23 February, 2009 at 7:25 am #

    Love seeing those wild turkeys. I think I’d probably walk in the rain to see them too.

    • Liza Lee Miller 24 February, 2009 at 3:00 pm #

      They were really cool. One of them was clearly the lookout — watching out for the others. They weren’t particularly nervous about me but did hurry out of the rain at one point when it started dumping on us. I was drenched when I got back home. 🙂

  5. Susan Gets Native 23 February, 2009 at 5:34 pm #

    I think that white one is a product of getting some strange in the barnyard.

    Did you do your AWESOME Gobble at them?

    • Liza Lee Miller 24 February, 2009 at 1:15 pm #

      While the white could totally be from some “getting busy” with a domestic turkey, there aren’t any farms near here still . . . I did not gobble at them. I was so focused on taking pictures. 🙂

  6. mon@rch 23 February, 2009 at 5:37 pm #

    he he he . . gobble gobble gobble . . !

  7. isabelita 24 February, 2009 at 10:17 am #

    Hello, drifted over here from the Bums’ site; wonderful turkey images! The top one looks like an Impressionist landscape, thanks to that downpour.

    • Liza Lee Miller 24 February, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

      Thanks for visiting! Good thing about taking pics in rain — creative imagery. Bad thing, water on lens! 🙂

  8. Mick 24 February, 2009 at 10:55 am #

    Very nice photos. I like the way you were determined to get photos – even in the rain!

  9. Bob K 25 February, 2009 at 8:55 am #

    Neither rain, nor sleet…..
    I know how it feels, Liza, to get that photograph no matter what. Great job!

    • Liza Lee Miller 25 February, 2009 at 6:15 pm #

      Thanks! It was fun, too. Thankfully, rain won’t hurt you!

  10. Kyle 25 February, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    Great shots, Liza! I’ve never been around wild turkeys before (well, except for a couple of times in college, but I think that might have been a different kind of Wild Turkey…), but even in pictures I’ve never seen them with all that white. Very cool! (And very wet, from the sound of it. That’s what I call dedication!)

  11. MaineBirder 27 February, 2009 at 5:16 am #

    Chasing after Turkey’s in the rain, good for you! Nice photos.

    What you may have with the white one is a leucistic Turkey. Leucism is a very unusual condition whereby the pigmentation cells in an animal or bird fail to develop properly. This can result in unusual white patches appearing on the animal, or, more rarely, mostly or completely white creatures. This is not to be confused with Albinism which is a completely different condition.

    • Liza Lee Miller 27 February, 2009 at 5:49 am #

      Thanks, Mainebirder. My first thought was that it was leucistic. I have quite a few leucistic Chestnut-backed Chickadees that frequent my feeders. Whatever the cause, the bird sure is striking.

  12. Larry Jordan 27 February, 2009 at 10:13 pm #

    Great captures in the pouring rain Liza! You are a woman after my own heart. When I am determined to get that photo, nothing stops me (other than the bird flying off 😉

    I love the first two shots especially.

    • Liza Lee Miller 28 February, 2009 at 3:22 pm #

      Thanks, Larry. That’s usually what happens to me, too — the birds fly off. On the other hand, I love a walk in the rain!

Leave a Reply

