Wordless Wednesday: California Poppies

17 Mar

P1190259

13 Responses to “Wordless Wednesday: California Poppies”

  1. Crafty Green Poet 18 March, 2009 at 12:10 am #

    what a gorgeous photo, wonderful play of light and shade and colour

    • Liza Lee Miller 18 March, 2009 at 4:55 am #

      Thank you. It is definitely going on my favorite photos list. 🙂

  2. Sandy 18 March, 2009 at 3:15 am #

    Beautiful! I can grow california poppies here in Maine, and even have some naturalized in the fields. You know, I love wildflowers, best. Do the pink ones grow wild, there?

    • Liza Lee Miller 18 March, 2009 at 4:58 am #

      That’s pretty funny, Sandy because I can’t get them to grow here reliably. Sigh. I have grown them from seed and just bought them and planted them. But they never come back on their own. Sigh. I’ve never seen pink ones in the wild — I think they are “man-made” — they are beautiful though. I’ve planted CA poppies every year we’ve lived here and none have “taken.” Glad to know they are happy in Maine though! 🙂

  3. MaineBirder 18 March, 2009 at 4:08 am #

    Crisp, beautiful and yellow! Excellent photo Liza!

    • Liza Lee Miller 18 March, 2009 at 4:59 am #

      Thanks! I love CA poppies. Evidently, you could go to Sandy’s fields and take some shots yourself! 🙂

  4. BEG 18 March, 2009 at 6:11 am #

    Wow! Gorgeous! I love the colors, the shape, the texture here… I’ll have to look for some to shoot as well…

    yeah, I have trouble growing them here, too o.O

    I think maybe they get too much water or something, ha…I keep trying to naturalize them on a small hillside I have, though…someday!

  5. robin andrea 18 March, 2009 at 6:26 am #

    That’s such a beautiful photo of a California Poppy. We had them in Washington, but not so much here in Capitola!

  6. Pam 18 March, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

    Wow, how beautiful! Thank you for showing this to us!!!

  7. O'Kitty 18 March, 2009 at 5:47 pm #

    Gorgeous shot, Liza.

    I hope you’re feeling better!!

  8. Wende 18 March, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    D’oh. . . that last comment was me. The O’Kitty was a joke from yesterday and I forgot to clear the field. I wonder how many other comments I’ve left like that. 😀

  9. bevson 23 March, 2009 at 3:46 am #

    Fabu foto of my favorite flowers. I grow them from seed her in NJ and they return every year. If the winter is too, too harsh I sometimes have to resow but not often. How funny that you can’t get them to grow by you.

    • Liza Lee Miller 23 March, 2009 at 5:08 am #

      Yes, it’s soooooo funny! 🙂 No, really it is but frustrating, too!

Leave a Reply

