Tern, tern, tern

23 Mar

P1190065

The Terms and Cormorants work together.  The Cormorants herd the fish together and the Terns dive in and get them.  It was fascinating to watch.  I really loved seeing the Terns hovering over the water and then diving in.  They are so graceful and elegant.

P1190077

Forster’s Terns feeding on the fish rich waters at Elkhorn Slough.

P1190071

P1190073

For more elegant birds of the air and sea, visit Bird Photography Weekly.

13 Responses to “Tern, tern, tern”

  1. jayne 23 March, 2009 at 2:28 am #

    Love the title! “To everything tern, tern, tern…. ” :c)

  2. bevson 23 March, 2009 at 3:42 am #

    Ah, the Elkhorn Slough. Last time I was in that neck of the woods it was closed, so I missed it. Looks fab from your pictures. I am waiting impatiently for Spring. It is too early for terns here. But I am sure they are on their way.

    • Liza Lee Miller 23 March, 2009 at 5:06 am #

      That’s such a shame! Next time, I’ll go with you!!!

  3. MaineBirder 23 March, 2009 at 3:46 am #

    Nice title, got my attention… Great photos!

    It will be awhile until Terns return here. I have a favorite spot to watch nesting Least Terns.

  4. Crafty Green Poet 23 March, 2009 at 5:04 am #

    nice title, great photos and wonderful to see all this going on.

  5. robin andrea 23 March, 2009 at 6:46 am #

    Yes, quite an inspired title. Love it.

  6. bob k 23 March, 2009 at 8:47 am #

    When it comes to cooperating with the cormorants they’re like: “one good tern deserves another”.

  7. ken 23 March, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    Hi Liza, I agree they are incredibly fascinating. Here is a great informational video about Caspian Terns at the Elkhorn Slough. It’s really good!

    Unfortunately, the Caspian Terns have not set up a colony at the Elkhorn Slough in the last several years.

  8. KGMom 23 March, 2009 at 12:25 pm #

    You used the pun in your title–otherwise, you know I’d be using it.

  9. April 23 March, 2009 at 12:35 pm #

    Very pretty pictures of the terns swooping and diving!

  10. mon@rch 23 March, 2009 at 6:05 pm #

    I can’t wait for our terns to return!! Maybe I will see some down in VA when I head down there!

  11. Larry Jordan 23 March, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    Thanks Liza. Now I have the Byrds song running through my head (I love the Byrds 🙂

    That looks like a gorgeous place to birdwatch and your shots of the Terns hovering and diving complete the scene.

  12. Klaus 24 March, 2009 at 5:43 am #

    Very interesting. I’m with Larry on the song! 😉
    Cheers, Klaus

Leave a Reply

