Native Thistles

13 May

BEG commented yesterday that she loves thistles too but that they are an invasive species. So, I wondered if there was a thistle that was native to California.

And, what do you know!

There is!

Venus Thistle, J. E.(Jed) and Bonnie McClellan © California Academy of Sciences

Venus Thistle, J. E.(Jed) and Bonnie McClellan © California Academy of Sciences

Venus Thistle (Cirsium occidentale var. venustum)

It’s definitely beautiful but perhaps not as striking as the invasive one I featured yesterday.  I may try to find some at one of our local native plant nurseries.  I LOVE the color of them.

What is your favorite native plant in your garden?

4 Responses to “Native Thistles”

  1. BEG 13 May, 2009 at 6:27 am #

    No not as striking but a lovely shade of pink (hey, pink!) nonetheless. I’m gobsmacked… I’ve known for years that the other thistle is invasive but never thought to look for a native version… 🙂

    • Liza Lee Miller 13 May, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

      I *try* to plant native whenever possible but its hard to do. So many plants that I love aren’t even remotely native. Still, when I can, I do. And, the PINK is the best thing about them!

  2. Wende 13 May, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    ooh, so pretty!!

    Aren’t artichokes a form of thistle?? If so, yeah–I love them too! 😀

    I’m holding healing thoughts for your Mom, Liza. (and calm ones for you!!)

    • Liza Lee Miller 13 May, 2009 at 8:30 pm #

      Thanks so much Wende. And yes, I believe artichokes *are* thistles . . . no wonder I love them so much! Mom seems to have come through as well as we hoped which is great news. Evidently, they are anticipating a speedy recovery! Hurrah!

Leave a Reply

