Wherever you go, there you are

2 Jun

P1200110

When I travel across the state and into another one, I sort of expect things to be different.  Traveling from 500 feet above sea level through 7300 feet above sea level to 4600 feet above sea level, I sort of expect things to be different.  And, many things are different.  I left the land of Redwood trees and coastal fog and ended up in high desert and nightly thunderstorms.  But many things are the same.  One of those sameness are Western Scrub Jays making noise in the tree tops.  And robins.  And California Quail.  And House Finches.  And . . . well, you get the idea.

6 Responses to “Wherever you go, there you are”

  1. Arija 3 June, 2009 at 6:58 am #

    All things are different yet the same. Habitat is stil habitat, be it tropical swamn or dry desert, some living creatures are just more adaptable than others. A nice shot.

  2. wende 3 June, 2009 at 9:28 am #

    The photo is fantastic! LOVE IT! (and the Buckaroo Banzai quotation makes me so happy!)

    • Liza Lee Miller 3 June, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

      Oh, I’m so embarrassed to admit that I forgot that was a Buckaroo Banzai quote. I do love that movie, though.

  3. Sandy 3 June, 2009 at 12:29 pm #

    We have just regular blue jays here. I can’t wait to see a scrub jay! I have been west of the rockies three times, but was not into birds, then.

    I like that shot.

  4. Susan Gets Native 3 June, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    I use that line all the time!

  5. Wren 6 June, 2009 at 8:08 am #

    I know what you mean – I thought the birds in Michigan would be more different from the ones in Virginia.

    Nope.

    All the more reason to travel further and further …

Leave a Reply

