Fox Sparrow!

28 Jun

Fox Sparrow

This brazen little sparrow plunked down on that fence post not 4 feet away from Gage and I as we walked around the General Grant Grove in Kings Canyon National Park.  It immediately started singing, heedless of the dozens of people around us.   I snapped pictures as quickly as I could.  I tried to catch video as he kept on singing his fool head off but, of course, as I started the video, he flew off.  I love the look on his face in the shot above.  What a funny, little show-off.

For more show-offy birds, visit Bird Photography Weekly!

15 Responses to “Fox Sparrow!”

  1. Phil 29 June, 2009 at 12:07 am #

    he does look like a cheeky boy!
    we’ve got a couple of dualing blackbirds here in Inverurie (Scotland) – they sing at / over each other every night, standing on TV arials – makes walking down the road a joy… I really should video them for you!

  2. Mick 29 June, 2009 at 12:53 am #

    That bird certainly does look as if it is watching the bird watchers!

  3. gwendolen 29 June, 2009 at 3:24 am #

    I love the way you captured him. Looks like a real Cassanova.

    • Liza Lee Miller 29 June, 2009 at 11:29 am #

      Thanks, Gwen! I wish I could claim it was brilliant photography but it was pretty much taking advantage of the circumstance that presented itself! I got lucky!

  4. Dawn Fine 29 June, 2009 at 7:08 am #

    What a beauty!
    I just found your blog via nature blog network.
    I already follow you on twitter.
    I want to add u to my blogroll but I organize under area and state..
    So what state do u live in?
    Thanks!

    • Liza Lee Miller 29 June, 2009 at 11:25 am #

      Thanks, Dawn! I’m in California. Bay Area. Thanks for reading my blog and I hope you’ll keep visiting!

  5. robin andrea 29 June, 2009 at 8:26 am #

    What a fine looking little fox sparrow. I’m going to head over to Cornell’s All About Birds site and listen to his song.

  6. bob k 29 June, 2009 at 8:56 am #

    I just love the pose of this bird! Shows some chutzpah.

  7. Larry Jordan 30 June, 2009 at 9:33 pm #

    Excellent capture of this not-so-common sparrow Liza! It’s funny how bold some little birds are and how skiddish others can be.

    I totally empathize with you on the video try. I find many birds take off as soon as they see a camera!

  8. Kyle 2 July, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

    Looks like he was deliberately posing for you, Liza. And maybe even flirting a little, with that little head-cock and all. Great shot!

  9. Wren 3 July, 2009 at 11:56 am #

    Isn’t it great when the birds cooperate? It happens so rarely it’s a real treat when it does occur. Great photo and story~

Leave a Reply

