Wild Ravens

6 Jul

Raven

I am lucky enough to live and work near Ravens.  I see them and hear them daily.  They are nesting in a tree behind my house.  At work, they land on the railing outside my classroom and get food from the trashcans.  I won’t go so far as to say that they are domesticated but they are very, very accustomed to the presence of people.  I’ve seen then let kids get within five feet of them before flying off to safety.   I have a comfort level with ravens that many people rarely get to have.

Lest I take it for granted, I get to experience wild ravens from time to time as well.  Camping in the high sierra at 7,600 feet, there was a nest of Ravens within a 100 yards of our motorhome.  I could hear them but was never able to see the nest.  Drat those tall pines.

I saw the parent ravens regularly.  They’d fly in and out and there would be raucous raven calls from their young as they did so.  However, they were very careful about their nest.  They’d do huge circle flyovers to make sure all was safe before they’d approach their nest.  I had hoped to get a shot of them coming or going but that wasn’t possible.  If I was anywhere near their tree — even hiding under another tree – they would not approach their nests.  It was amazing how aware and careful they were.

6 Responses to “Wild Ravens”

  1. Tranquility 6 July, 2009 at 3:20 pm #

    Ravens are such interesting creatures.

  2. Wren 6 July, 2009 at 6:31 pm #

    Great photo – the wilder ravens may be harder to see and harder to capture with the camera, but the solitary bird soaring by the tree is much more photogenic than a scavenger on a trash can. Amazing how much they can acclimate to being around people.

  3. Kyle 7 July, 2009 at 4:55 am #

    Nice shot of the raven soaring by, Liza. Here’s hoping you get some good looks of the youngsters once they get ready to make their own flights from the nest!

    • Liza Lee Miller 7 July, 2009 at 8:20 am #

      That’s a nice thought, Kyle but I was only near them when we were camping in Sequoia. Now we’re home several hundred miles away. Now, I’ve got some local ravens that are sounding like they might be fledglings but haven’t seen them yet either.

  4. MaineBirder 7 July, 2009 at 10:31 am #

    Nice photo Liza! We have a few who stop by occasionally, mostly during the winter months.

  5. Amy 9 July, 2009 at 4:57 pm #

    You’re lucky indeed, how nice to ‘live among’ ravens. 🙂

Leave a Reply

