No, no, THIS is my new most favorite bird artist ever!

3 Sep

Friends (oh GOD, I’m so in teacher mode right now!!!), Friends, let me tell you why I love the Internet so much. Why I love blogging and twittering and why I love the people that I have met this way.

I have shared Gabi Reith’s work before in her fonts of birds and feathers that was made available on the typeface-a-week blog page.  Gabi and Phillip were so pleased that I was so pleased that they sent me a thank you gift.  Such a gesture is completely unnecessary but awfully delightful.

Even more delightful when I opened the package from Scotland and saw the treasures inside.

P1210827

Here is a website dedicated to this series of work by Gabi Reith. Unfortunately, it seems that Gabi’s Etsy shop is empty right now. I can only assume that she’s working on her next amazing series of artwork.

P1210828

These cards and the tea towel (which evidently I’m the only American to own!!!) are whimsical and elegant all at once. I just love them. And, so appreciate Gabi and Phillip’s thoughtfulness!

P1210831

That utterly gorgeous tea towel is going to grace my classroom walls before too long.  It is so lovely!  And, the cards,  I want to frame each one.  Thankfully, they sent two of each so I can save one and use one.

So, why do I love the Internet?  It alllows me to make connections that span continents, cultures, and connect artists in Scotland with teachers in California.  And, then swings out again to include each of you.  People used to say that the Internet was a cold form of communication and would lead to a world full of plugged in people who never really connected.  I’m so glad we know now that the warmth of human connection is strong enough to cross through screens and wires and ethernet and even leap through wireless empty space and bring people together.

14 Responses to “No, no, THIS is my new most favorite bird artist ever!”

  1. Jody 3 September, 2009 at 8:26 am #

    Nice, nice, nice!!

  2. KGMom 3 September, 2009 at 8:46 am #

    I sure do understand being in teacher mode when using a voice in writing blogs! Happens to me lots.
    Oh oh oh –a website dedicated to type faces? I always tell my students not to get tricky with fonts. Because I know fonts. They look at me as if I had just grown another head or something.
    (Sigh)

    • Liza Lee Miller 3 September, 2009 at 8:28 pm #

      The typefaces are so gorgeous and fun. I don’t download ALL of them but I’ve gotten a lot! 🙂 As for the teacher voice . . . you probably aren’t as “condescending” as most of us Elementary School teachers can sound. “Friends, let’s talk about how we act in 4th grade.” Hee-hee!

  3. Vickie Henderson 3 September, 2009 at 4:58 pm #

    I so agree with you expression of appreciation for the connection we can make through the internet. It has surprised me, actually, but the genuineness crosses the wires and the miles and jumps through the screen. And I have been delighted and heartened and appreciative of so many artists and nature bloggers met this way! The gifts are a lovely plus!

    • Liza Lee Miller 3 September, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

      I’m amazed at how well and deeply I can meet people I’ve only corresponded with — sort of like pen pals of old, I suppose but with greater ease and frequency. Gifts are always a nice plus (but never expected!!!)

  4. wende 3 September, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

    Sometimes, the interwebs rock. Love that care package. And those birds are fabulous.

    • Liza Lee Miller 3 September, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

      I didn’t think of it as care package but that is what it was, huh? Very cool! Phillip and Gabi rock! (As do you!!!) 🙂

  5. Phil Thompson 4 September, 2009 at 2:47 am #

    we sent it becase we were impressed with Liza’s gusto and enthusiasm (and ability to find our tiny blog in the blogosphere!) and because she’d taken the time to use one of Gabi’s experimental fonts from #TFAW… it’s the least we could do for somone who’s helped promote and get our work out there. Even this package is “working for us” now… so thanks for blogging it too Liza!

    • Liza Lee Miller 4 September, 2009 at 5:21 am #

      Well, thank you again! It was the least I could do with all those treats arriving. Besides . . . I wanted my birding friends to see them and be jealous . . . or go buy something! 🙂

  6. Phil Thompson 4 September, 2009 at 2:49 am #

    PS…Etsy…Gabi is too lazy to keep it up to date (so thanks for the digital poke in the ribs Liza…I’ve tried the physical nagging…but I don’t think she can hear me any more… he he)

    • Liza Lee Miller 4 September, 2009 at 5:20 am #

      Glad to help. Her stuff is so wonderful! I know some of my birding friends could be enticed to buy! 🙂

  7. Miz S 7 September, 2009 at 3:55 am #

    I love this, Liza. And I agree 100% with your closing paragraph.

    Hope the school year is going okay for you. Isn’t it nice we had this 3 day weekend to give us a break?

    • Liza Lee Miller 7 September, 2009 at 4:14 pm #

      This 3 day weekend is renewing my soul, Miz S. The school year is kicking me but good but I’m kicking back. There is just a lot going on this year and I’m having to step up big time, personally, professionally, and with my students. Wheeeee! Today has been one of those slow, serene, lazy days where I got just enough done that I don’t feel behind the 8ball anymore but not so much that I didn’t get to relax and nap. It’s all good today!

  8. Pam 8 September, 2009 at 5:26 am #

    This is so awesome, Liza!

Leave a Reply

