Worthy of Kindle and Print?

28 Sep
An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon

An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon

I have very few books that I have both Kindle copies and real-world-copies. But, I found a new one this weekend . . . Diana Gabaldon’s latest book An Echo in the Bone: A Novel.  Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series is one of my all-time favorites.  I believe my step-mother, Babette Donaldson, first recommended her to me saying that everyone she’d suggested read Outlander had not only liked it but made a point of thanking her — male and female alike.  I can say the same thing.  I have turned a lot of people on to Diana Gabaldon’s books over the years and no one has told me they wished I’d kept my recommendations to myself. I stayed up too late last night reading this latest book . . . #7 in the Outlander Series . . . and wish I could call in sick today and continue reading! Really, I wish I could read them all over again and then stay home and read the latest one . . . they are that good.

So, her latest and long-awaited book just came out on September 22nd.  I agonized over which way to buy it.  I have hard copies of all her books . . . .but I really prefer reading on the Kindle.  What to do?  What to do?

My mother-in-law told me it was an easy call.  Buy the hardcover . . . and then I can lend it to her.

I had pretty much decided to do that and then I got an email from Amazon.

Seems that my blog posts on the Kindle are “paying off.”  When I blog about a book or device on Amazon, I use their “Associates” service.  That means I get a tiny commission if you buy something I recommend from my link in my blog.  Amazing.  So, please buy up!

Amazon sent me a gift card payment that was enough money to buy BOTH copies guilt-free and I still might have enough money to buy my newly trumpeted son a music stand.  Amazing!

And, so, I thank you.  And my mother-in-law thanks you.  And, my son will probably thank you as well!

Gage's face

4 Responses to “Worthy of Kindle and Print?”

  1. Pam 28 September, 2009 at 6:21 am #

    Definitely worthy of Kindle, and print in hardcover, perfect bound, and soft cover! No guilt at all. Oh, and of course, audio when it’s available (is it available yet, hmmm, I’ll have to look).

    • Liza Lee Miller 28 September, 2009 at 4:22 pm #

      Yup! Great reads! Don’t know about the audio book. Love my hardbacks though but boy do I enjoy reading it more on my Kindle! Anything is better read on the Kindle.

  2. Wren 28 September, 2009 at 7:16 am #

    I’ve just gotten the first in the series as an ebook, just out of curiosity. Now I’m even more glad I did.

    • Liza Lee Miller 28 September, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

      I keep the original on my Kindle at all times . . . it’s a good read whenever so no matter what my mood, it will fit.

Leave a Reply

