Neighborhood friends

1 Oct

P1210946

I wonder how many of you have Ravens as neighborhood friends . . .

For more skyward birds, visit Sky Watch Friday.

16 Responses to “Neighborhood friends”

  1. Crafty green poet 1 October, 2009 at 11:19 pm #

    no, but we do have carrion crows and jackdaws…

    • Liza Lee Miller 2 October, 2009 at 8:14 pm #

      Okay! Gotta say that those names totally rock compared to “Common Raven.”

  2. Sandy 2 October, 2009 at 3:03 am #

    We have lots of crows and, for the first time this summer, we had a family of baby crows in the yard. It was fun watching their antics.

    One of your ravens looks like it has on a tutu!

    • Liza Lee Miller 2 October, 2009 at 8:15 pm #

      I’d love to see babies. The Ravens put their nests so high in our redwoods that I can’t ever see them. We’ve camped near nests and I had a nest near my yard this summer . . . they are LOUD!

  3. lizziviggi 2 October, 2009 at 6:48 am #

    What a nice shot– I love the silhouettes! We don’t have ravens, but we do have crows… and they’ve all been far too crafty to let me ever get a good picture of them! Very pretty.

    • Liza Lee Miller 2 October, 2009 at 8:16 pm #

      It’s a family joke that when the ravens see my camera lens they flee!

  4. Clare 2 October, 2009 at 7:12 am #

    I do! I do!

    • Liza Lee Miller 2 October, 2009 at 8:16 pm #

      You know I was thinking of you when I asked the question!

  5. Debbie@Like a Rose 2 October, 2009 at 11:03 am #

    A few – but mostly crows…

  6. Christine 2 October, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    No ravens in Michigan, we have crows and grackles. In California (northern coast) we have lots of very big ravens. Alarming creatures, large and smart. Interesting to watch – when they will let you.

    Love the name of your blog -“birding by happenstance”!

    • Liza Lee Miller 2 October, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

      Thanks, Christine. I’m in Northern (well, Central) California myself! I’m blessed to have them in my neighborhood and at the school where I teach. We get to watch them a LOT there. They find cleaning up after the kids to be well worth the potential risk

  7. Wren 2 October, 2009 at 2:58 pm #

    I wish we had ravens, but I’m enjoying the crows we do have.

    They have quite an air of ownership, don’t they?

  8. Miz S 2 October, 2009 at 3:15 pm #

    No ravens around here that I know of. I adore crows, though. What a great picture!

  9. Liza Lee Miller 2 October, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

    Thanks, Miz S. Crows are great too but I’m a big fan of the Raven!

  10. Amy 3 October, 2009 at 4:42 pm #

    We are just starting to get our crows back. I wish we had ravens. I miss rooks and jackdaws. :o|

Leave a Reply

