Football Munchies – Snausages!

11 Oct

Today's Football Munchies - Snausages

Snausages.  Snausages.  Snausages.


P1210925 P1210926

The ingredients are simple — lil’ smokies and bread mix.  A bread maker helps, too!

  • Mix the bread dough on the dough setting — don’t bake!
  • Wrap the dough around the smokies – one at a time.
  • Put on greased cookie sheet (or on silpat or baking parchment)
  • Bake for 15 min at 350F.
  • Serve with dipping sauces like Mendocino Mustard

DSCF0001

Playing with bread dough is FUN!  I didn’t get flour out first which certainly would have helped with the stickiness.  I made Greg come and take pictures!

DSCF0002

Arrange them on the cookie sheet (obviously, I went with the silpat sheet).

DSCF0004

Did I mention it was sticky?  Sticky is fun!

Sharp-eyed observers will notice that those are NOT Lil’ Smokies in the background.  When I originally planned to make these a few weeks ago, I made the bread dough and then realized that I was late for a memorial service.  Oops.  I bolted out the door, changing into appropriate attire as I went.  I ended up using the smokies for another favorite way to use them – add them to ramen soup.  Yummy!  I toss baby carrots in, too.  Easy!  Anyway, when Greg went to the store for me today, our local market let us down — no Lil’ Smokies.  Guys, let this be a lesson to you . . . keep some bread dough in the cupboard and some Lil’Smokies in the freezer.  And, you’ll be ready for some football!

Today's Football Munchies - Snausages

The end result is yummy!  My children love these.  Even my daughter who is notoriously picky.  She is even taking the leftovers for lunch tomorrow . . . well, what Gage didn’t take to share with the boys playing soccer across the street!  A neighborhood hit!

Oh, and we call them Snausages because they vaguely resemble the dog treat and the word makes my sister laugh.

Snausages.  Snausages.  Snausages.

8 Responses to “Football Munchies – Snausages!”

  1. John 11 October, 2009 at 8:10 pm #

    Now that looks tasty!

  2. Jody 12 October, 2009 at 7:50 am #

    Snausages! Heeheehee!

  3. Imaginator 14 October, 2009 at 5:18 pm #

    I just tried them! They’re deeee-lish!!! 🙂

  4. wende 16 October, 2009 at 8:59 am #

    Oh, those look amazing, Liza!! I don’t have a bread maker but I might try them free hand.

  5. sarah in the woods 19 October, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    These look good! I love your nature photography. Nice to find your blog.

  6. ndcowgirl 4 November, 2009 at 8:52 pm #

    What is Mendocino Mustard and where can you get it or do you have a recipe?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Evidently » Blog Archive » Snausages, and Brie, and Chicken. . . Pot Pie! - 19 October, 2009

    […] finally, lovely Liza Lee is making up. . . wait for it. . . Snausages! Apparently, all your football loving friends are going to adore these. (Personally, I think you […]

Leave a Reply

