Neglected

6 Jun

The things you see

Sometimes you find yourself feeling kind of small.

I’ve been neglectful lately.  Neglecting my blog, my birds, birding in general, writing, creativity.  I’m not making excuses but life — especially the life of a teacher near the end of the school year — interferes with what I’d really like to be doing.  Sometimes escaping into fake farms and sparkling jewels is important to let my brain rest up.

This has been an interesting year for me.  There’s some growth.  There’s some challenges.  There’s just stuff.

Still, when I went to my long neglected blog today, dusted off the cobbies, and looked carefully, I felt a little small.  There were comments.  People have been visiting.  People cared about my posts . . . even when I clearly didn’t care all that much.  So, I felt a little small.

But summer is nearly here.  I am feeling a renewal in my spirit.  An urge to charge up my camera batteries, dig out my binoculars, stitch something pretty, and to write.

Hopefully, things won’t be as dusty here for the next little while.

6 Responses to “Neglected”

  1. KGMom 6 June, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    Not to worry–I suspect your readers know that sometimes other things press in. Something has to give–and that something is blogging at times.
    I understand what you mean about needing to allow your brain to rest. Good description.
    Anyway, hope with summer coming, you will have time to write as much as inspiration strikes you.

    • Liza Lee Miller 7 June, 2010 at 4:51 am #

      Thanks for the support, Donna! I will be writing about our summer trip on my blog about our motorhome and I plan to post birds and poetry and other cool things here while we’re traveling! Just have to survive this week and then I’m FREEEEE! 🙂 P.S. Hope Tipper is feeling better today!

  2. Crafty Green Poet 7 June, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    things inevitably get a little dusty sometimes, we all need time for other things! Lovely photo by the way!

  3. Wende 10 June, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    I’m so glad to see you back. You’ve been missed. And that photos, wow!!

    • Liza Lee Miller 10 June, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

      Thanks, Wende! I’ve missed it too! Thanks for the compliment. It was definitely a “there at the right moment” photo!

Leave a Reply

