New birds for today

16 Jun

If it’s Wednesday, we must be in Nebraska! We finally made it to Minden, NE today. Amusingly, whenever we’ve told people in Nebraska that we’re going to Minden, they have struggled not to say, “WHY???” They have politely asked things like, “Oh, do you have family there?”

Anyway, I woke up and went for a walk in Sidney, NE this morning. I saw Western Kingbirds as well as Common Grackles. Both are lifebirds for me. Hurrah!

Western Kingbird, Sidney, NE

For mammals, today, I saw more Pronghorns as well as a couple of adorable bunnies!  My daughter and her new friend caught a toad and they showed it to me.  Later, one tried to jump on my foot as I walked by.

I also got to remember why I will tolerate hot, sticky, humid nights . . . because fireflies like it so much!

2 Responses to “New birds for today”

  1. southfielddrive 23 June, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Hi Liza,

    I have been reading your blog on and off for some time. Very enjoyable. You are obviously someone that enjoys the natural world around you. And that is a good thing. I live in southwestern Ontario, Canada. Near London. I also blog on WordPress. “Southfielddrive” I write of my birding thoughts and encounters. But I also write about day to day activities. Kind of a diary of sorts. Keep up the good work. Thanks.

    Dave

    • lizalee 25 June, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

      Thank you, Dave. I really appreciate your visiting and reading my thoughts. I’ll take a look at your blog as well. Cheers, Liza

Leave a Reply

