Traveling . . .

28 Jun

P1240652_2

I like myself better when we’re traveling.  Greg and I haven’t been on a long camping trip since our Honeymoon (3 weeks in the Southwest) and I had forgotten/not realized/not known how much more relaxed, happy, and pleasant to be around I am when we’re on the road.

Little things don’t bother me.  Even big things, such as breaking down at a truck stop in Laramie, don’t make me stressed and anxious.  I snap at the kids less. I grump at Greg less.  I feel more engaged in each moment.

When we do weekend camping trips, I honestly find it to be less than relaxing.  I still have fun but camping is a lot of work and when I’m stressed from work . . . well, it’s hard to let it go for just two days.  Last summer, when we did our week in Sequoia, I felt some of what I’m feeling now but with this long trip, it’s pretty amazing how I have changed.  like the person I

708 in Valentine, SD

I’d hate to ask my family who they like better . . . but I know who I like better . . . Camping Liza.  So, the question is, how do I carry this positive, can-do, I won’t get thrown by life, whatever, let’s just solve the problem and get ‘er done attitude with me when I return to real life . . . because unless we start buying lottery tickets in every state, I will be returning to real life and I don’t want to be as stressed and irritable as I know I was this last year.  I’ll think on it . . .

4 Responses to “Traveling . . .”

  1. Pam 28 June, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    Maintaining vacation me is sooo tough, I’ll be curious what you come up with!

    • lizalee 29 June, 2010 at 7:27 am #

      Glad to know I’m not the only one who struggles with it. I’m trying to figure out what in my environment helps me to deal with things better while on vacation so that I can try to incorporate them into my life in the real world. I know clutter is a part of it. Living in a motorhome means I only have what I need — extra stuff is just in the way. I think de-cluttering my life will be a focus this year.

  2. KGMom 28 June, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Just read your FB status that the trip is temporarily on hold.
    Hope the fix is speedy.
    I love the accounts of this family bonding vacation–and your analysis that you are more relaxed. That’s what vacation is all about, but it is hard to achieve.

    • lizalee 29 June, 2010 at 7:25 am #

      Thanks, Donna. We’re doing okay with “camping at Motel 6” — except that my back rejects the beds here so I’m a bit miserable. We’ll get the diagnosis and estimate on our repairs for money and time later this morning. Then we’ll make firm plans. I made a list of inexpensive but fun things to do with the kids while we’re temporarily stuck in Billiings. There is a LOT! So, we’ll make the best of things.

      As for the vacation me, since I’m still a generally happier person even today after a lousy night’s sleep and waking up with an aching back . . . I think I’ll hold on to Vacation Me for a while. I honestly think that one of the reasons that Vacation Me is happier is due to the lack of clutter around me. Living in a motorhome pares you down to the bare minimums. Anything left lying around is immediately an irritant and I bustle over and tidy it up. At home with room to spread out, I spread and I never want to bustle and do anything. Interesting. Needs some thought.

Leave a Reply

