Sandhill Cranes are amazingly cool

29 Aug

Sandhill Cranes, Yellowstone

I saw my first Sandhill Cranes in Utah but it was a 60 mph sighting.  Thankfully, in Yellowstone, my loving and indulgent husband spotted these beauties as we drove along the Western side of the park.  We stopped and I was able to get this shot.  They were quite far away but I was able to get these shots thanks to my fantastic camera.  Every time I look at this camera, I get excited about these beauties all over again.  How amazing are they?

4 Responses to “Sandhill Cranes are amazingly cool”

  1. Mary Carlson 31 August, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    Liza – is the crane on the left a juvie? That’s a really good photo. Did you get the opportunity to hear the cranes “honking” while in flight? The first time I ever heard them “honking” while in flight was in Fairbanks, AK. And I couldn’t imagine what I heard was actually a bird making that sound. 🙂

    • lizalee 31 August, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

      Mary, I don’t know — that’s as good a look as I got of them. People made such a circus about the mammals we saw roadside in Yellowstone that I didn’t want to make a bigger thing of by staying longer. I didn’t get to see them flying at all. Something to look forward to!

  2. Neefer 3 September, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    You must come up to the houseboat. In the fall, the sand cranes feed in the pasture where we dock. At dusk, they all rise up and fly over our houseboat making that wonderful honking goose sound.

    • lizalee 3 September, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

      Wow, Neefer! That would be amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

