Birdwatching in Santa Clara

18 Oct

Every year, I get to go to an amazing quilt show in Santa Clara — the Pacific International Quilt Show.  It’s really inspirational.  Plus, I’m always amazed how many quilts have birds in them.  It’s like dual entertainment!

I am starting with my favorite bird . . . the Raven.  While these trees are all wrong for my Ravens to soar through, it still made me happy to see it.  I love the way Ravens will use the roads to make their own paths through the woods.  I think the artist made a great choice to have the purple fabric mixed with the black fabric for the Ravens’ feathers.

Romping Thru the Woods

Romping Thru the Woods
© Rose Hughes, Signal Hill, CA (45″ x 45″)

I usually don’t take photos of birds that can’t be identified or of barnyard birds . . . there are LOTS of chickens at quilt shows.  However, this Phoenix refused to be ignored.  Wow doesn’t even begin to cover it.

Phoenix Rising

Phoenix Rising
© Jan Pendleton & Lauri Drean (27″ x 27″)

Charley Harper is one of my favorite bird artists.  Check out this amazing homage to his art.

Charley Harper

Charley Harper
© Jane Haworth, Auburn, California

Sometimes the birds are just a small part of the whole.  Loved this pelican though.  There is a closeup below.

Water Quilt

Along the Russian River
© Pointless Sisters Quilt Group, Santa Rosa, CA

Closeup of Pelican from Water Quilt
Closeup of Pelican from Along the Russian River

While we don’t see many of these birds here in California, I loved the bird portraits in this quilt.  Just lovely. 

Birds in the Woods

Birds in the Woods
© Nettie Smith & Linda Hibbert (90″ x 74″)

Another amazing Pelican.  This one made me think about our trip this summer.  Once we hit the coast, we saw lots of pelicans.

This is Gonna Cost You

This is Gonna Cost You
© Janice W. Hearn, Sisters, OR (32″ x 54″)

I’m writing this post on our first rainy day of the season . . . this quilt captures the mood outside perfectly.

Anticipating the Storm

Anticipating the Storm
© Laura Jaszkowski

There is just something about seabirds, isn’t there?

Gull Reflections

Gull Reflections
© Kerby C. Smith & Lura Schwarz Smith, 2009

Evidently, Black Oystercatchers are called Tobies in South Africa.  I loved this quilt!

Save the Tobies

Save the Tobies
© Bettie Van Zyl, South Africa (42″ x 57″)

Gorgeous cranes.  I also love the background.  It’s amazing.

Overberg Cranes

Overberg Cranes
© Caroline Sharkey, Australia (26.5″ x 56.5″)

The quilt below is worth clicking on and looking at the larger version of it.  There is so much life in this quilt.  Absolutely amazing.

Welcome to the Jungle

Welcome to the Jungle
© Betty Busby, Albuquerque, NM (68″ x 54″)
Winner Best of Country, United States, World Quilt Competition

I always enjoy going to quilt shows.  I haven’t made a quilt in about 7 years.  I need to find time in my life for this again.  I loved the way many of the artists combined fiber arts, birds, and photography.  Very inspirational . . .

6 Responses to “Birdwatching in Santa Clara”

  1. Clare 18 October, 2010 at 3:50 am #

    Wow. Those are amazing. Absolutely amazing.

    • lizalee 18 October, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

      I am glad you liked them, Clare. Going to a quilt show is like going to an art gallery. I’m always amazed by the art I see there.

  2. Jill Finger 18 October, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    Corey sent me this link so I’d be sure to see it. As a quilter, I can really appreciate the work that went into each one. What I didn’t think of was how quilts could appeal to all kinds of people depending on their interests. Thanks so much for sharing the pictures of the ones you found interesting. One of my dreams is to go to this show–now more than ever.

    • lizalee 18 October, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

      I’m so glad you liked the quilts, Jill. Quilt shows are amazing. Do you have a local guild? I love our local shows just as much. If you do get to come out, let me know. Maybe we can combine quilting and birding, too!

  3. Crafty Green Poet 22 October, 2010 at 1:58 am #

    what wonderful quilts!

    • lizalee 22 October, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

      Aren’t these quilters insanely talented?

Leave a Reply

