A little political action . . .

20 Oct

Sandhill Cranes, Yellowstone

I felt so blessed to see these amazing birds in Yellowstone National Park this summer.  Sandhill Cranes are magnificent.  I’d never seen them before this trip.  We spotted a pair in Utah as we drove by at 65 mph.  We couldn’t stop and really look at them.  I was thrilled when Greg spotted this pair out in a meadow as we drove through Yellowstone.  They were pretty far away and I know it’s not a great shot.  I didn’t want to get too close.  I stood by the road and shot to the limits of my telephoto.  But, as any birder knows, you feel a connection to birds you see in the wild and they become, in some way, yours.

So, when I read on 10,000 Birds about Tennessee’s proposed hunting season on Sandhill Cranes, I felt a little sick.  I’m not anti-hunting.  However, I do question what Tennessee has done here.  They planted crops designed to get the Sandhill Cranes to stop in their state during their migration by the thousands and they created a festival around their arrival.  Now, it’s becoming too much somewho and they are proposing cutting back on the feeding and opening a hunting season on them.  Say what?

I have read 10,000 Birds for years and trust them.  I’ve read Julie Zickefoose for years as well and I trust her as well.  Read the article, read the comments, and see if you aren’t moved to write to the state wildlife managers and suggest they not start hunting Sandhill Cranes in Tennessee.

What a crying shame that would be . . .

8 Responses to “A little political action . . .”

  1. birdingperu 20 October, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    Liza Lee, as an outsider it surprises me somewhat (but not a lot considering US politics!!!) that your opposing hunting of the cranes, could in any way be interpreted as a political statement. In most countries in the world, this issue would be rather non-political. A gut feeling, that it is wrong!!! – no matter what party-color you identify with.
    Therefore, bashing up some opinionated lobbying through blogging, facebook, twitter, etc and sharing our stories – could be effective.
    Good luck in the fight. I’m for one, have already shared the 10000birds piece, now I am sharing this!

    • lizalee 21 October, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

      Everything is politics in the US. But anything to do with hunting and guns is political because our conservatives support gun ownership and our liberals do not. The twain rarely meet. But I meant political action more in the sense that writing to governmental officials to change their point of view is political action.

  2. Crafty Green Poet 22 October, 2010 at 1:57 am #

    Really unfair and misguided turnaround in the state’s attitude to those birds! Thanks for highlighting the issue!

    • lizalee 22 October, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

      I think it’s the turn around aspect that is the most upsetting. Luring the birds in to the state for YEARS and then turning around and hunting them seems criminally stupid to me.

  3. Wren 22 October, 2010 at 5:42 pm #

    Couldn’t agree more, Liza. It makes me angry and sort of sick, all at the same time.

    And I never would have guessed you liked egrets from the URL of your blog. 🙂

    • lizalee 23 October, 2010 at 8:51 am #

      Egrets have long held a special place in my heart.

  4. Vickie 15 November, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    Thank you for your comments about the proposed crane hunt. As someone in TN, I appreciate everyone’s comments. I’ve posted a blog post with what I think are the most important issues.

    http://vickiehenderson.blogspot.com/2010/11/sandhill-crane-hunting-in-tennessee.html

    • lizalee 17 November, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

      Thanks for visiting, Vickie. I’m on my way to read your blog. Hoping things go well for the cranes!

Leave a Reply

