California in the Winter

9 Feb

Oh sure, I know, it’s always better when you have four real seasons.  California only has two seasons, right?  Fire season and earthquake season?  I’ve heard the jokes.

But, this is how I spent last Saturday.

P1270551

I was looking at this.  A spectacularly beautiful sunny day in Pacific Grove watching birds and having a glorious time basking and soaking up some unexpected summer Vitamin D.

Winter is, honestly, not usually this nice in California.   I’m sure I’ll be whining about lack of water in the summer but I’m enjoying it now.

And, I saw this little sweetheart hanging out on the rocky shore below me.  It’s a Surfbird (correct me, if I’m wrong).

Surfbird (Aphriza virgata), Lover's Point, Pacific Grove, CA

So, what was your best bird of the weekend?  And, could you see it through the snow?  🙂

8 Responses to “California in the Winter”

  1. BEG 9 February, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    It was gorgeous this weekend 🙂 Saw a raven or two but that was it.

  2. Frank 10 February, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Beautiful pics.

  3. Nature Woman 13 February, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    Oh, how gorgeous! Mmmm, can’t wait to start soaking in some hot sunshine myself.
    As for the birds through the snow, I see lots of crows.

    • lizalee 13 February, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

      We’re getting rain tomorrow but we need it. It will be a long dry summer if we don’t get back to winter soon!

  4. KGMom 13 February, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    Well, now that you ask–I saw a western bluejay this morning. And I saw a bird (as yet unidentified) who was attacking the side mirror of a car. I will post pics when I get home.
    I too enjoyed the California sun recently.
    Your pic captures the sunlight well.

    • lizalee 14 February, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

      Western Scrubjay! Lovely raucous bird! Can’t wait to try to figure out the mirror bird! 😀 Some days, the California sun is simply sublime.

  5. Crafty Green Poet 18 February, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    I love the view in that top photo and the little bird looks very sweet. My best birds this week have been redwings and a bullfinch. Oh and the dippers too.

Leave a Reply

