Wordless Wednesday – Unexpected

16 Apr

Holy Cow!  A Purple Redwood Tree

9 Responses to “Wordless Wednesday – Unexpected”

  1. jayne 16 April, 2008 at 2:40 am #

    I know it’s an invader, but the wisteria is always soooo lovely to see.

  2. Liza Lee Miller 16 April, 2008 at 5:13 am #

    Oh, I agree. I love it. You do have to make a commitment to manage it, though. We have one at my house that was planted by the previous owners. When I went out to garden for the first time after buying the house, I followed an escaping sucker of it around my house (hugging the foundation and making a perfect right angle at the corner). It was heading for the redwood trees at the side of my house. I stopped it. 🙂 And, you know what . . . the birds LOVE wisteria. They nest in it and roost in it in the winter. Of course, I’ve seen rats in it too so you gotta take that with a grain of salt. Mine is under control now, thank goodness.

  3. Bobbie 16 April, 2008 at 5:48 am #

    How beautiful!

  4. robin andrea 16 April, 2008 at 7:09 am #

    Great shot, Liza.

  5. Trixie 16 April, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    That must smell AMAZING! I have always missed the wisteria since I moved back up here.

    Thanks for showing me that lovely sight (sorry tree!).

  6. Liza Lee Miller 16 April, 2008 at 8:59 pm #

    Thanks all. It is kinds of beautiful. I don’t know how that tree smells but my own blooming wisteria smells fantastic! My porch is heavenly right now with the soft scent and the buzzing of bees.

    My wisteria

  7. Juliana Gatti 5 May, 2008 at 5:51 pm #

    great color and relaxing feeling!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Festival of the Trees #23 - 1 May, 2008

    […] Lee Miller produces an unexpected Wordless Wednesday treat: An unexpected tree — 200+ feet tall just dripping purple […]

  2. Wisteria Wednesday « TGAW - 14 May, 2008

    […] https://egretsnest.wordpress.com/2008/04/16/wordless-wednesday-unexpected/ […]

Leave a Reply

