Happy Turkey Day!

26 Nov

Bevson at Behind the Bins and Murmuring Trees put forth a bird blogging challenge.  For Thanksgiving, let’s post Wild Turkeys.  Here are mine.

Wild Turkey in my front yard

The above turkey was in my yard one afternoon.  He (she?) was being fed corn by the neighbors.  I had 2 labradors at that time and when the neighborhood kids showed too much interest in this guy, he headed toward my backyard.  I headed him off and so he lay down in my front yard and tried to pretend that he didn’t exist (he didn’t fool me though . . . I knew he existed!).  Eventually, the kids gave up and I stayed patient and he finally decided it was safe enough to exist again and he got up and headed back to the golf course.

My favorite wild turkey sighting was in Morro Bay. Three Turkey gentlemen were cruising down the street.  I loved these shots.  They just look like they are out for a stroll.  I found out later that they are well known in Morro Bay and that there are turkey crossing signs on some of the neighborhood streets.

Turkey in Morro Bay

Another turkey

third turkey

Happy Thanksgiving!

I am grateful for so much in my life.

My wonderful husband, sweet children, and loving family.
I am grateful for my good friends and a job that gives me joy and challenge.
I am grateful for my health and our financial recovery.
I am grateful for a new president who brings new hope in these frightening times.

What are you grateful for?

Oh, yea, one last thing,  Thanksgiving isn’t complete without my amazing turkey call.  As you can see in the following video, turkeys respond to it.

Damn, I’m good.

11 Responses to “Happy Turkey Day!”

  1. bevson 26 November, 2008 at 2:23 pm #

    You crack me up! I love that you can gobble with the best of ’em. I’ve never seen a turkey with that little horn on it’s head before. Is it a breeding thing? I’m gonna link back to you.

  2. Liza Lee Miller 26 November, 2008 at 3:01 pm #

    Don’t know about what it’s for but I found this amazing pic on Flickr . . . [click].

  3. robin andrea 26 November, 2008 at 6:54 pm #

    I wish I had a photograph of a wild turkey to post. They are really such incredibly splendid birds. Great photos, liza. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

  4. Laura 26 November, 2008 at 7:12 pm #

    Wait… who’s doing the calling there?

    😉

    Have a happy Liza!

  5. Liza Lee Miller 26 November, 2008 at 7:14 pm #

    I was calling but they answered. That last bit is them responding to my call. I had just decided they weren’t going to and flicked the camera off when they did. I almost missed it. My husband proceeded to give me a hard time about being attractive to three Turkeys on the prowl. 🙂

  6. jayne 27 November, 2008 at 4:56 am #

    Now, THAT is some gobbling there! :c) Hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving Liza.

  7. Larry Jordan 27 November, 2008 at 11:50 am #

    Great turkey shots Liza and I LOVE the turkey talk… you ARE good!

  8. Merisi's 27 November, 2008 at 12:19 pm #

    Truly fun and beautifully captured images!

    I grew up in a small farming village where every now and then somebody’s flock of turkeys would escape wander the streets. I found them quite threatening, the way their read heads seemed to turn even redder when I “angered” them by walking towards them. They could be quite loud too. Really obnoxious behavior! 🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  9. Mary 27 November, 2008 at 8:11 pm #

    Thanks for the giggles, Liza!

    Love those silly turkeys.

    Hope you had a wonderful day.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Mary

  10. Susan Gets Native 28 November, 2008 at 4:19 pm #

    Great gobble, Liza!
    Just don’t do that in the woods….they will get VERY interested in you. And you won’t have a car to escape in!

    : )

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Turkey Special « Behind the Bins - 27 November, 2008

    […] have to go to Egret’s Nest.  She has great photos and can really talk turkey.  No, really. Possibly related posts: […]

Leave a comment