At it again . . .

9 Feb

Our friends at 10,000 Birds are at it again. In order to promote the very fun, Great Backyard Bird Count, they are hosting a contest with another fabulous prize.

The Great Backyard Bird Count is a fun citizen science effort where you count the birds you see in your own backyard and report them in where they are compiled along with results from all over the place. It is really exciting. I’ve done it myself and done it at school with my students. Really fun! (Don’t miss the GBBC blog!  New this year, the blog lets Rob and Laura keep us up-to-date on all the haps behind the scenes at the GBBC!)

The prize over at 10,000 Birds looks wonderful (of course!). It’s a new Audobon book on Backyard Birdwatching. It’s put out by DK who generally produce wonderful books with great imagery. I have already added it to my Amazon Wishlist!

So, huge thanks to Mike, Charlie, and Corey for their continued efforts at supporting the bird community and their fantastic generosity in offering wonderful, coveted prizes! 🙂

Oh, and one more thing . . . what do you have to do to enter this contest? Simply nominate your favorite backyard bird by visiting their contest page and commenting on what your favorite bird is. The bird with the most votes will be named Backyard Bird of 2008. An honor that the birds are already vying for. Can’t you just see some cute cardinal with the tiara posed delicately on her head? Or a sparrow holding the huge bouquet of roses?

As for me, I am nominating the Chickadee as my favorite backyard bird. Chickdees come in many flavors all around the country but they are all uniformly cute, cheerful, and brazen. My flavor of Chickadee is the Chestnut-backed Chickadee. They are my morning burst of happiness at my kitchen window feeder. So, come on, Chickadee fans, let’s get the vote out. We need to do it . . . for the birds! (Besides, Ravens don’t actually come into my backyard! 🙂 )

Chickadee in the rain

Oh, and while you’re at it, don’t miss the latest version of i and the bird! Sure we’re down in the dumps with wintery misery but you know what they say . . . misery loves company and sometimes it just helps to know you aren’t alone.

2 Responses to “At it again . . .”

  1. mary 9 February, 2008 at 6:18 pm #

    Thanks for the heads up, Liza. I’ve been hearing about backyard bird counts for so long and never took part. This time, I am. I want that book, too :o) I’ve only participated in I and The Bird once (shame on me)! I think I need to get cracking.

    Before you mentioned Chickadee, that bird was on my mind. I also like the nutchatches but there’s that little feisty Chickadee…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Most Beloved Backyard Bird 2008 - 14 February, 2008

    […] The myriad flavors of Poecile are prized from coast to coast. Liza Lee Miller nominated the Chick-chick-chick-a-dee in all its varieties, in part because, unlike Clare, she doesn’t actually get Ravens in her backyard. She also thinks […]

Leave a comment