I and the Bird #107 – We and the Bird

19 Aug

We and the Bird

by the contributers to I and the Bird #107

A data point in the study of the fate of birds
There were blue-wings aplenty in their usual haunt and a pair of kamikaze wood ducks that had me stamping on the anchors
These hornbills are capable of storing a large amount of fruits in their gular pouch.
Her frame is gangly, adorned with a mixture of adult plumages in different states of development
like two rival gangs feel each other out, replete with posturing and machismo
thirsty raven gathering rocks and dropping them into an urn
Add to this, pink legs and feet, and you have the details that make up the unique and subtle beauty of Ovenbirds
and before you is the incessant cacophony of hundreds of terns, cormorants and gulls crowding little islands of concrete and gravel
Other than the gulls, everything was a little twitchy
by plunging it’s bill deep in the sand, and spitting out the water when he withdrew it
splashing about as their friends look on, or even join in the fun
with a torch with yellow light, the male appears tawnier and therefore very much like a typical female
Swans are mean mothers aren’t they?
one of those head scratching, mind boggling reports that makes you glad to be a birder,

for abandoning that warm sleeping bag to brave the frost as the predawn glow begins
as it ripped at the flesh, a variety of birds came by and perched on the same dead treetop
Spoonbill foraging is dependent on fluctuating water depths
here a Wilson’s Storm Petrel does their characteristic foot pattering across the surface
I also saw a green heron fly by a few times but never got a shot of it.

P1210519

I am deep in the midst of preparing for the start of a new school year.  One of my favorite things to teach my 4th graders is poetry.  We do a group poetry exercise after a field trip.  So, I thought I’d get warmed up with all of you.  I scoured the posts submitted for poetic lines.  I included them in the order they were submitted and I kind of like the results.  Dang!  We’re good!

Contributors to the “We and the Bird”:

Start getting ready for I and the Bird, #108.  It’s being hosted by The Zen Birdfeeder.

10 Responses to “I and the Bird #107 – We and the Bird”

  1. gwendolen 19 August, 2009 at 8:53 pm #

    I love it! Wonderful I & the Bird, Liza.

  2. Mike 20 August, 2009 at 4:39 am #

    Splendid, Liza Lee. We are good!

  3. Larry Jordan 20 August, 2009 at 5:50 am #

    Thank you Liza. I love your poem! It gave me visions of birds, dancing in my head. And yes, I must concur, we are good!

  4. Con 20 August, 2009 at 10:21 am #

    We and the bird. Beautiful poetic work, Liza and all!

  5. Duncan 20 August, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    Great theme Liza Lee, another first for I and the Bird, well done!

  6. Vickie Henderson 21 August, 2009 at 10:00 am #

    Fun and creative approach to loving birds! Your class of students is very lucky!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I and the Bird #107 - 20 August, 2009

    […] Now that we’ve acknowledged that I and the Bird is “four years young” as Corey put it, we have to evaluate this endeavor for signs of life. Is IATB still vital? All signs point to yes, and I’m not getting that response from my trusty Magic 8-Ball. My proof that I and the Bird is still alive and kicking is that awesome bloggers like Liza Lee Miller continue to participate, promote, and even host our festive carnival. This is Liza Lee’s third time at the helm yet her enthusiasm for presenting the best bird blogging of the last fortnight clearly remains undiminished. Enjoy her fun free verse edition of I and the Bird #107 – We and the Bird! […]

  2. Modulator - 20 August, 2009

    Friday Ark #257…

    We’ll post links to sites that have Friday (plus or minus a few days) photos of their chosen animals (photoshops at our discretion and humans only in supporting roles). Watch the Exception category for rocks, beer, coffee cups, and….? Visit all the …

  3. Modulator - 20 August, 2009

    Free Verse Birds…

    I and the Bird #107 morphed into the fine verses of We and the Bird presented by Liza Lee Miller. Group poetry in its feathered finery!……

  4. I and the Bird #113 | Matthew Sarver - 12 November, 2009

    […] the spirit of several earlier IATB efforts that made use of found poetry (Dave Bonta and Liza Lee Miller come to mind) and quotations (Clare Kines did a nice job with this too), here’s what I put […]

Leave a comment