Archive | 9:46 am

Life Bird #132 – Western Screech Owl

17 May

Yesterday, my world was hot (95F was the high).  At 9pm, it was finally down to 70F outside but still 78F inside.  We opened everything up and sat out on the porch, enjoying the cool air.  We were not alone in enjoying the cooler evening.  As we sat there, I could hear an owl in the redwood grove across the street from our house.  We didn’t try to get flashlights and find the owl.  We just sat there enjoying it’s song.  I have spent may frustrating hours trying to spot birds up in the top of redwood trees.  When they are nearly 300ft tall with dense foliage . . . it’s an absurd waste of time.  Besides, we were hot and that would have required actual energy.

This morning, I sat with my computer and the Owl Pages website and listened to owl calls.  I thought I had it and went to have my husband listen.  He’s a musician so his auditory memory is much better than mine.  We agreed and I can tell you that it was a Western Screech Owl who was serenading us last night.

Western Screech Owl, photo by Dan Lockwood © All Rights Reserved

Western Screech Owl, photo by Dan Lockwood © All Rights Reserved

Life Bird #132
Year Bird #64
Yard Bird #33