10 Favorite Holiday Songs

19 Dec

Clare at The House and other Arctic musings posted a meme about favorite holiday songs.  A friend of his posted his favs and Clare continued it and sent it viral!   🙂  I am doing my part:

  1. O Holy Night – Jewel
    This song is ethereal and lovely.  Rapidly becoming a family favorite.
  2. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen by Barenaked Ladies with Sarah McLachlan My favorite carol for many years now and BNL’s version with SM accompanying him.  It’s great.
  3. Santa Baby by Madonna
    She does a great job with this fun, irreverent song
  4. O Come, O Come Emmanuel by Joan Baez
    Joan Baez’s Noel album was my mother’s favorite and to me, it’s not Christmas until I have heard this album.
  5. What Child is This? Sarah McLachlan
    Another longtime favorite. Greensleeves or What Child is This?  And there pretty much isn’t anything that Sarah McLachlan doesn’t sing well.
  6. Winter Wonderland/Misty Mountain Hop by Fleming and John
    This is a hilarious and fun song. Led Zeppelin’s Misty Mountain Hop’s music with Winter Wonderland’s words.  And, you now what  — It totally works!
  7. Panis Angelicus by Celtic Woman
    Gorgeous song and gorgeous voices
  8. Pretty Paper by Willie Nelson
    I know lots of people hate the good Mr. Nelson.  I, however, adore his music and love this song.
  9. I like a Sleighride by Peggy LeeI don’t know why I like this one so much but I really, really do.  Silly, dated, fun
  10. Carol of the Bells by California Guitar Trio
    CGT is a group of amazing players.  Their Christmas music is wonderful.

So, tag you’re it!  Leave a comment if you decide to play along!  Because reading Clare’s list and his friend, Townie Bastard’s list, I ended up adding to my iTunes Christmas list.  Woot!  Ruby, on the other hand, thinks about as much about holiday music as she does about Christmas sweaters.  🙂

Ruby's Christmas Sweater

4 Responses to “10 Favorite Holiday Songs”

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook 19 December, 2008 at 5:40 am #

    Love Ruby’s sweater.
    I’ll have to give some thought to the music list.

  2. Janet Roper 19 December, 2008 at 5:50 pm #

    Fun, I’m going to put my top 10 favorite Christmas songs on my blog. I love Jewel’s version of ‘Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer’.
    Harmony,
    Janet

  3. wren 20 December, 2008 at 6:44 am #

    By great coincidence, I just heard the Bare Naked Ladies/Sarah McLachlan “God rest you merry ….” and thought, I like this. Off to iTunes to search for their albums.

  4. Laura 20 December, 2008 at 7:44 pm #

    I made my list, Liza.

    😉

    Ruby does not look amused.

Leave a comment