Bridge out

4 Feb

Bridge Out

With the uncertainty about my job next year, I’m feeling a bit like this picture.  I’m on stable ground now but I know I will have to cross this shaky bridge soon.

This is impacting my health, my patience levels, and my happiness.  And, as a teacher and as a mother, I find that being healthy, patient, and happy are really important.  But, everyday now, I have a churning stomach, short fuse, and a bit of a gray cloud following me around.

My husband and I were talking about all this deep stuff about how the economic uncertainty is affecting us — he has had jobs canceled (he’s an architect) and I’ve been given notice that I’ll get my notice . . . I’m noticing that both of us have a tendancy to escape right now into tv and food and silence.

It’s a bit like the Nothing in The Never Ending Story . . . it’s coming and seems unstoppable but if you give in, you just speed it along it’s way.  So, we’re fighting the nothing, the blahs, the blues.  Remaining optimistic . . . it’s a good thing.

11 Responses to “Bridge out”

  1. robin andrea 4 February, 2009 at 7:29 am #

    I’m so sorry to read that you’ve been given notice that you’ll be given notice. These are such hard times. I wish we could all do something to repair it quickly. We just heard from an old friend that he was laid off after 20 years at Plantronics. I hope Congress gets off its lazy butt, does the right thing, and passes the stimulus package ASAP.

  2. jodyss 4 February, 2009 at 8:08 am #

    *hugs*

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook 4 February, 2009 at 11:24 am #

    No kidding Liza, Art and I were having the same discussion and spoke of the Nothing from The Never Ending Story. I agree that we must find a way to keep our optimism in the future.
    {{{hugs}}} to you friend.
    This is a community where we can support each other.

  4. Jim Richardson 4 February, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    I have been cut back 20% in pay. I can only say keep writing. It helps me get it all out. Perhaps it will help you also. The demand for my portraits is down also, but I will keep doing what I have to as I know you will also. We need to visualize success and act on our instincts and not be lead like sheep and we will become better. I use my extra time to spend with my grandchildren and they love it and I notice I was missing things that should have been a part of me all along. I really get to see them and really listen to what they have to say.

  5. wren 4 February, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    I’m sorry. That’s totally inadequate, but still accurate.

    I talked by phone yesterday to a friend in another state who just lost his job. It’s much harder to accept when it’s people you know instead of abstract statistics.

    Hang in there!

  6. KGMom 4 February, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    These are tough times–no way around that.
    I will keep you and your family in my thoughts and prayers. It won’t put food on the table, but maybe it will help nudge change in the overall atmosphere. Who knows.

  7. Susan Gets Native 4 February, 2009 at 6:39 pm #

    We are all in the same boat, dear. (Unless some of us are trust fund brats)
    Geoff went for 30 days without a new assignment. THAT is seriously scary.
    I just hope we all can find whatever we need to cover ourselves and our families.

  8. Toni 4 February, 2009 at 7:53 pm #

    We knew for a year my husbands job was going to end. He was the last person to close the door behind him. He is now back in school for nursing. We planned and made a budget. But it is still not easy and we take it day by day. Faith plays a big part in our lives. Sending you hugs.

  9. Miz S 8 February, 2009 at 5:19 am #

    Oh, honey. I’m sorry. We’ve been lucky so far, but there are ominous rumblings at Josh’s place of employment.

    Are we going to be the new “Depression Generation”?

    • Liza Lee Miller 8 February, 2009 at 10:12 am #

      Thanks, Mary. Greg and I have analyzed all the data I have and it all boils down to the fact that until our stupid state legislators get their collected act together, we’re stuck in the dark. I MIGHT lose my job but no one knows. Still, I have to plan on the worst, don’t I? Sucks!

  10. bevson 11 February, 2009 at 5:23 am #

    It is a scary time we are in. Things are sketchy, at best, at my workplace too. We had lay-offs in December and there are rumors that we will have them again in May. The underlying fear is palpable.

Leave a Reply

